We Are Charlie

Don’t make a badge and wear it too
So mark my S’s through and through
Cause I’d buy anything for you
And I make my badge and sell it, too.

My voice is finally giving in
So I toned it down another step
So I can hit that note you wept
When I play that one note again

Your body is attempting to
An argument on what to do
We all know there’s a truth to truth
So I make my badge and sell it, too.

Hallelujah, what have I done?
Hallelujah, what have I done?

-Andy Hull

We Are World Trade, We Are Pentagon, We Are Shanksville, We Are Vicitms of ISIS Sexual Crime, We Are Starving Kurds, We Are USS Cole, We Are Britain, France, America, We Are The Free State of Iraq and Syria, We Are Fighting An Evil Ideology To Its Core And We Will Not Lose. 

It’s funny, ignorance. Our friend and one of my favorite modern philosophes Cornel West, the man every establishment fears, auspiciously declares “never forget that justice is what love looks like in public.” Empathy requires that we are “prisoners of hope,” West also says. It also requires us to condemn ignorance and fight it with such a veracity that it can be pushed to the deepest depths of the seas. Charlie Hebdo is a wonderful weekly that was full of prisoners of hope. In an age where Islamist terror strikes fear in many innocent people in the world they called it like it is. This paper is well known to degrade oppression through masterful satire that is unapologetic when it comes to human freedom.

All out war: “France is in a ‘war against terrorism, against jihadism, against radical Islamism, against everything that is intended to break fraternity, liberty, solidarity,’ [French PM Manuel] Valls told an audience in Evry, a town south of Paris.” The ensuing march in Paris with world leaders interlocking arms in a show of solidarity was show of great coalition that I hope will once again dampen the polarization over the asymmetric fight against this evil ideology. Let’s let it carry out, root out the vermin, and eat them for breakfast.

Via NYT

Via NYT

Via NYT

Via NYT

Leave a comment