This Land Is Your Land

It’s about 2 AM and I am scared that my absentee ballot hasn’t come to my mailbox yet. I checked it today, tomorrow is election day, and it is not there. The election supervisors over at Franklin County failed to get it to me on time, so now I am fretting that my ballot will not be cast. I tried changing my address in time but it didn’t work. I’m scared that my one single effort to vote for all of my favorite Republicans and Democrats will pass me by these midterms and the Tea Party, or what one of my old school liberal professors called the “teabaggers” (no kidding), will remain the bane of Georgia in a land that wasn’t just made for you, not for me, but for you and me. John Stuart Mill would roll over in his grave.

Government, equality, democracy, republic, security, wealth disparity, climate, international affairs, human rights, American politics, global poverty, choice and life, feminism, campaign ads, the Kochs, pols her pols there, Iraq WMD, the Obama “Doctrine”, Coney Island, coffee, woodworking, Thomas Jefferson, SCOTUS, corporations, the New York Philharmonic and the quest to truly find and communicate with the elusive middle class, this is Politics For All Of Us. A somewhat daily commentary on all things America, or rather just the things I want to write about, that will most likely affect you in some way if you live in the land that was made for you and me. Hopefully you will find mixed signals based only in rationality. The fabric of this land is not defined by who is in charge. Policy and governance should be universal. It should provide for a free market as well as the thousands of homeless children that, to this day, still sleep on freezing streets in American cities. Let’s energize the alternative and pay it forward. Let’s contribute to a conversation that is worth having where the greater fool has a chance again.

“As I went walking I saw a sign there
And on the sign it said “No Trespassing.”
But on the other side it didn’t say nothing,
That side was made for you and me.

In the shadow of the steeple I saw my people,
By the relief office I seen my people;
As they stood there hungry, I stood there asking
Is this land made for you and me?

Nobody living can ever stop me,
As I go walking that freedom highway;
Nobody living can ever make me turn back
This land was made for you and me.”

-Woody Guthrie

Leave a comment